Fast Forward

So here we are in March 2008.

I finally sent my outer fat girl packing. To date, I’ve lost 43 pounds. I’m still not the skinny bitch I used to be, but I can look at myself in the mirror.

And when I do, I can see my collar bone. And my pelvic bones. And the outline of my ribs. Parts of my body that I didn’t realize were missing until they suddenly reappeared.

Of course, there was no “suddenly” about it. It’s been a looooong haul. A whole year filled with hunger pangs, sore muscles and yes, the occasional tantrum ( I get cranky when I’m hungry).

I’m not done yet, either. I’ve got at least another seven pounds to go. At least.

But I’m more than a little bit proud of myself for getting this far. Now, when I’m standing in front of my closet thinking I’ve got nothing to wear, it’s because my clothes are too big. I had to punch a new hole in my belt. Last night, I even slid my jeans off without even bothering to unbutton them.

And that, my friends, made it all worthwhile.

Published in: on March 17, 2008 at 10:48 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theskinnygirlinside.wordpress.com/2008/03/17/fast-forward/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am inspired by your journey… share with us how it all came to pass. And I’d like to see the “photo shoot” pics, if you ever feel brave enough to share them.

  2. Go you! The amount of weight you lost is inspiring. But what I admire even more is your self confidence. I could be 107 lbs again, but I’m afraid there would still be a fat girl inside saying, “You know this won’t last.” I promise to be more of a cheerleader and less of a cookie pusher. Keep up the good work. You look great!

  3. Amber, I’m so incredibly impressed by your hard work and determination. As a girl who’s jumped on and off the dieting/exercising wagon more times than she can count, I applaud you for holding on to the steering wheel and taking it for a ride. You look amazing!


Leave a Reply

