Silencing your inner whiner

“But I want it!”

“I’m sorry honey, not today.”

“Pleaaaase, I really need it.”

“You got a (greasy hamburger/mocha latte/double fudge sundae) yesterday!”

“BUT I WANT ONE NOOOOOWWWWW!”

Sound familiar?

Chances are if you’ve spent much time dieting, you’ve had that same conversation with yourself more times than you can count. I know I have.

Don’t kid yourself. Dieting, by it’s very nature, demands a healthy dose of self-denial. After all, most of us got, um, overly voluptuous by giving in to our inner five-year-olds a few too many times.

So what should you do when you find yourself in this situation?

Different things work for different people. Some say that allowing yourself to have “just one bite” of whatever you’re craving does the trick.

As far as I’m concerned, that’s baloney. For me, that single bite turns into several, and before I know it, I’ve polished off the whole thing. I’ve found other, more effective ways to kick that craving:

“You can have (blank) if you (blank).” Fill in that second blank with an odious task—doing dishes, folding laundry, scrubbing the toilet…the possibilities are endless. Chances are, you’ll procrastinate long enough that by the time you’re done, you’ll have forgotten what it was you were craving.
Pull on those workout clothes and move. Yep, I know. That’s the last thing you feel like doing. But if you can manage it, you really will feel better. Plus, after working up a sweat, you won’t want to redo what you just undid.

Get out your fattest fat ass picture and stare at it. Keep staring until you remember why you started dieting in the first place.

Find a lower calorie substitute for whatever you’re craving. Personally, I’m a fan of the Smart Ones desserts by Weight Watchers…I’ll post more ideas another day.

And if, at the end of all that, you still want (blank), just eat it. It’s okay to fall off the wagon every once in a while. Just make sure it doesn’t leave you behind.

Published in: on March 27, 2008 at 7:02 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theskinnygirlinside.wordpress.com/2008/03/27/silencing-your-inner-whiner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My inner five year old sounds exactly like Veruca whats-her-name from Willy Wonka.
    Hopefully, I won’t wind up in the incinator…

  2. I love reading your posts – they’re very helpful to my Outwardly Fat Girl.

  3. Very well written (of course), and nice design too. This is my first visit to your blog. Great advice- one of my big things is finishing off my wifes food at meals, after mine is finished. I don’t need to do that- after all, aren’t most portions in America too big for one, and me, after having my own meal… well, you see my point. Another thing I do is to go grocery shopping for a few items- especially produce, frequently. Real, healthy food cooked at home does a lot for you.


Leave a Reply

