The. Best. Compliment. Ever.

It was 9:15 in the morning. I’d gotten up late. Realized there wasn’t a drop of caffeine to be had in the house. Dug through the laundry basket desperately searching for something (anything) that wasn’t too wrinkly to wear. Then gotten stuck behind a school bus that. stopped. every. twenty. feet. on my way to work.

In a word, I was Crabby.

And I had a meeting in 15 minutes.

There was only one thought running through my mind—Get Me Coffee. Now.

Nevertheless, when on my sprint to the coffee shop I noticed some coworkers I hadn’t seen in a long time entering the building, I paused to wave hello.

But they didn’t wave back. Instead, they just stared vaguely in my direction. Snarly thoughts were already forming at the back of my brain when they finally reacted.

“Amber! I didn’t even recognize you!” one said. Better yet, their next comment  included the word “hot.”

Apparently, between the advantageously blowing wind, new clothes and vacation-fresh tan, I looked, well, good!

Now, I know I’ve lost a lot of weight. And I’ve gotten a LOT of compliments (thank you, all of you, I really appreciate it). But since they’ve all come from people that see me all the time (and have heard me whine endlessly) there’s still a little part of me that insists I don’t look that much different. That they’re just being nice.

But this time? Not even I could come up with a reason to negate their praise.

Needless to say, my day (heck, my entire week) got a whole lot brighter after that.

Thank you, you two. You know who you are.

Published in: on April 24, 2008 at 9:51 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theskinnygirlinside.wordpress.com/2008/04/24/the-best-compliment-ever/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Fantastic! Congratulations 🙂


Leave a Reply

