What does skinny look like?

In the short time since I began this blog, I’ve talked a lot about how much weight I’ve lost in the last eleven months. Forty-five pounds, for those of you who haven’t been paying attention.

That’s how much the average 6-year-old girl (and sixteen-year-old model) weighs.

That makes me a size 10—which, as I was recently reminded by a reader, does not make me skinny by society’s standards.

What does it make me? Healthy. Happy. And hot in the eyes of my husband.

It puts the strut back in my walk.

The waist back above my hips.

The chin back in my face.

You get the idea.

But a picture, as they say, is worth a thousand words, so see for yourself:

Here’s a full-length shot of me last March.
Me. March 2007.

And one taken two weeks ago.
On the Carnival Legend. April 2008.

Me in all my chipmunk-cheeked splendor last year.
Me. march 2007.

And a goofy picture of me enjoying my lunch.

Amber. 2008.

So. That’s what skinny looks like to me. My version of skinny certainly won’t put me on the cover of a magazine—but it will keep me from becoming part of the dreadful obese person B-roll that pops up on the evening news.

Now it’s your turn.

What does skinny look like to you?

Published in: on April 28, 2008 at 7:26 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theskinnygirlinside.wordpress.com/2008/04/28/what-does-skinny-look-like/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You look gorgeous and very happy!! Congrats on all the work you’ve done to get there!

    I’m a size 8 which, in Vancouver, is considered “plump” because most women here are a size 4 and can wrap a napkin around their waists as a skirt.

    To me, skinny is being healthy, happy and liking what I see in the mirror. I’ll never be on a magazine either – and like you, I don’t really care. 😉

  2. i guess “proportionate”… scrawny is different thing

  3. I think you are a beautiful woman either way! That red hair is to die for (well not literally but you know what I mean:-) I personally think skinny should be taken out of our vocab as such a wonderful and amazing thing. We should replace skinny with body acceptance no matter what size you happen to be. Our society can’t quite figure out what they mean by skinny, it just keeps getting smaller and smaller with each subsequent decade! Anyway, that’s my two cents. I’m glad you are happy:-)

    tiffabee.wordpress.com

  4. Thank you very much. Cheeseburgers for everyone…


Leave a Reply

